National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum’s Annie Oakley Society to Honor Three

The National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum’s Annie Oakley Society will honor Mo Anderson of Keller Williams, Chickasaw Nation Gov. Bill Anoatubby and local winner of “America’s Got Talent” Darci Lynne Farmer for contributions to the American West at 11:30 a.m. June 6 in the Museum’s Sam Noble Special Events Center.

Mo will receive the Annie Oakley Society Award. She became Keller Williams’ president and CEO in 1995 and has since been named one of real estate’s 25 Most Influential Thought Leaders by Realtor Magazine.

Anoatubby, serving his eighth consecutive term in office since his election in 1987, will receive the inaugural Frank Butler Award during the luncheon. Darci Lynne, winner of season 12 of “America’s Got Talent,” received the first-ever Little Sure Shot Award at a reception in May

The luncheon and awards ceremony is open to the public, and tickets are $100 for nonmembers. Call 405.478.2250, ext. 233 or visit

Annual Red Rooftop Party Raises Funds for AIDS Walk OKC

The sixth annual Red Rooftop Party benefiting AIDS Walk OKC was held in May. Participants dove into the dance floor at the Cardinal Engineering rooftop to enjoy local cuisine, summer cocktails and music to help raise funds for the AIDS Walk OKC. 

Established in 1998 and incorporated in 2001, the AIDS Walk of Oklahoma City’s mission is to build awareness about HIV/AIDS and to raise funds to support the work of nonprofit organizations that provide HIV/AIDS direct care, support services and education. The annual walk and 5K run is held in downtown Oklahoma City.

Funds raised by participants and by corporate donations are distributed to eligible nonprofit HIV/AIDS organizations. Since 1998, more than $565,000 has been returned to the community to benefit people living with HIV.

Thirteen Candidates File To Run for Oklahoma Governor

In November, Oklahomans will choose the state’s next governor, and they will have 13 candidates to choose from.

Drew Edmondson, Mick Cornettt and Gary Richardson may be familiar names on the Oklahoma political scene, but numerous others have thrown their hat in as governor. The 2018 Oklahoma gubernatorial election will take place on November 6 to elect the next governor of Oklahoma. Incumbent Republican Gov. Mary Fallin cannot seek re-election to a third consecutive term.

Candidates are: Christopher Barnett, R; Mick Cornett, R, Oklahoma City; Drew Edmondson, D, Oklahoma City; Joe Exotic, L, Wynnewood; Dan Fisher, R, El Reno; Eric Foutch, R, McLoud; Barry Gowdy, R, Elk City; Connie Johnson, D, Forest Park; Gary A. Jones, R, Cache; Todd Lamb, R, Oklahoma City; Rex Lawhorn, L, Broken Arrow; Chris Powell, L, Bethany; Gary Richardson, R; Blake Cowboy Stephens, R, Tahlequah; and Kevin Stitt, R.

MetroTech, OKC Boathouse Foundation create Conquer the Dragon Course for Working Teams

Riversport Adventure Park and the MetroTech Downtown Business Campus are partnering to offer a unique team building experience that combines Dragon Boating and classroom training.

Conquer the Dragon’s customized curriculum and dragon boating experience is designed to encourage working teams to explore what makes them great and what’s holding them back from success.

For more information on the Conquer the Dragon Team Building experience, visit or, email or call 405.595.4090.